no safety net in Croatia

health and safetyBritish Health and Safety rules state that workers are not allowed to stand on the top three rungs of a ladder, in case they topple over, and must keep three parts of their body in contact with the ladder at all times, and many firms are so worried about being taken to court for breaching the regulations – where they could face an unlimited fine – that they have abandoned ladders altogether, preferring to use fixed structures for roofing work.

Health and Safety gone mad!!??

No such problems in Croatia… we’ve had several workers and contractors at our house, and they don’t seem to have any safety nets, nor do they seem bothered about it. Take a look for yourselves.

measuring up for air-con

measuring up for air-con

Hari "the Cat" on top of the pergola

Hari “the Cat” on top of the pergola

fitting first floor shutters, hanging on the ledge....

fitting first floor shutters, hanging on the ledge….

Hari "the Cat" jumps on the roof to clean the gutters

Hari “the Cat” jumps on the roof to clean the gutters

and he sweeps the pine needles off the roof - no fear of heights!

and he sweeps the pine needles off the roof – no fear of heights!

17 Comments

Filed under Renovations

17 responses to “no safety net in Croatia

  1. Our builder would use his emptied beer crate as an extension to his scaffold after lunchtime drinks!

  2. There is something to be said for both sides of the coin. But a little freedom to live like a cat sometimes is good!

  3. Flying is great, the landing, I know now, that’s another story !!
    Worked on a tiny new roof myself, only two meters up.
    Fly, land, auch, six broken ribs and “thinking” how to breath, no fun I can tell.
    One good thing however, it was me, not one of our local helpers !!!!!
    I would suggest, to have them sign for all responsibilities in case of accident.
    Yeah yeah, they may behave like cats, but you’re the one that’s taken to the police station (where they use lie detectors and google translate :-), because you’re the easy victim.

    • ahaahhahh yes I remember your landing was worst than Ryanair… I always tell them to be careful, shall I hold the ladder, shall I do this or that? “oh no, nema problema” they can always sort it out… (I better go and check my insurance…)

  4. It makes me cringe, it’s just the same in Turkey

  5. I’have also known these types of free-form laborers here in the US., they become very adapted at what they do, they begin as apprentices around 14 yrs. old and sort of become like circus performers. They rarely take chances that they cannot physically handle. Extended practice allows them to do things that others have not trained for.

  6. Dios mio. I love following your adventure, and just sent you a note via your Facebook page, as I’m planning on doing the same thing (on Ciovo as well!). Would love to talk to you about your experiences.

    Maryam

  7. I was looking at that through half-closed eyes :) Same here in LV – scary stuff!

  8. They’re amazing, aren’t they? There were contractors and carpenters in my family and I’d watch them in wonder when I was a boy. Now, as an adult, there’s absolutely now way you’d get me on, for example, a pitched tiled roof.

  9. The workers seem more daring if they are independent contractors. When working for a larger company, the safety regulations are more strictly enforced.
    My husband fell off a steeply pitched three-story roof and broke his arm. A brother-in-law had scaffolding collapse and injured his back. My brother had a ladder kick out from under him and split his upper lip wide open.

Got a comment? great if you left it here!

